Notre Dame de Grace
>>
Home
>
Trekking
>
Notre Dame de Grace
Saint-Izaire

Notre Dame de Grace

History and heritage
Easy
1h30
4,8km
+175m
-173m
Loop
Embed this item to access it offline

Treat yourself with an hour and a half getaway on the right bank of the Dourdou river, opposite the village of Saint-Izaire. This circuit is like going on an original pilgrimage to the 14th century chapel which is perched on top of a hill.

From the village of Saint-Izaire, reach the opposite bank and ascend to Notre-Dame-de-Grâce, a restored medieval shrine that overlooks the Dourdou plain. A carved standing stone and the native home of Canon Hermet who was an expert on the subject, delineate this heritage loop which also follows an old railway.


3 points of interest
History and heritage

Village of Saint-Izaire

The history of this village is intertwined with that of the old Episcopalian castle, which was formerly the Bishop of Vabres summer palace. The name of the village was first made mention of in an official document dating back to 862 AD.

During the 12th century, continual invasions, acts of banditry and battles between feudal lords created a tremendous insecurity. This led to the building of battlements to improve the defensive system and providea safe haven to the neighbouring people during periods of turmoil. The castle and the fortified village date back to the time of the Vabres bishops who made the village their summer residence and a safe refuge.

When the religious wars were over and peace restored, the protective wall lost its primary function and so today the façade of the castle has windows inserted along its length. The fortified gates were also demolished to allow the passage of carts or to expand the neighbouring houses. The villagestreet, footpath and house pattern has remained unchanged since the Middle Ages, and the beautiful 15th century facades and windowscan still be seen in some streets today. The old church part of the battlements had its vault lowered in 1635 to provide housing to the schoolmaster and guards. In 1650 repair works were started by the Consuls.

read more
History and heritage

Notre Dame de Grâce chapel

This sanctuary which was founded by Alix de Castelnau has existed since at least the 15th century, when it was called Ouradou (oratory). This chapel was refurbished in 1730 and during the 19th century, the stairway door of the castle was then brought back into use.

read more
Archeology

Carved standing stone of the Mas Capelier (B) This statue displays all of the feminine feature

This statue displays all of the feminine features: breasts are depicted either side of the Y shaped pendant,legs are set apart and the hair is tied back and depicted by a stripe down the back from the top of the head to the belt. The eyes are wide open set either side of the nose above tattooed   cheeks represented by four lines.

 

read more

Description

  1. The starting point is the Place de la Bascule (carpark under the bridge), cross the bridge.
  2. At the roundabout take to the left towards Broquiès. After approximately 50 m, head directly to the almost only tricky part of this walking route: a 100 m long steep path that leads to the foot of ND de Grâces Chapel. At the rear of the chapel, you will find a small enclosed area to relax and enjoy a scenic view over the village and the plain. A pilgrimage, well known in the region, takes place every year (nowadays, on August 15th) with an open air mass which is celebrated in the enclosed area.
  3. Carry on to the left towards the former hôtel Bellevue, leave the tarred road to ascend straight on the path called « chemin du château d’eau ».
  4. Keep walking until you reach a carved standing stone to the right, a notice board displays the history of the statue. Then, carefully follow the marking signs, for here several tracks head in all directions. The one which is to be followed is the most to the right, it is narrow, uneven, runs downhill and goes back to the Dourdou plain.
  5. Next, follow to the right the ancient railway until you reach a junction again on the right that rises to the chapel. Enjoy once more the view over the plain.
  6. Then retrace your way back to the starting point.
Departure : Place de la Bascule, Saint-Izaire (carpark under the bridge)
Arrival : Place de la Bascule, Saint-Izaire (carpark under the bridge)
Towns crossed : Saint-Izaire, Calmels-et-le-Viala

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Box tree months are active from May to October. During the caterpillar phase, they feed on the leaves of box trees. They crawl down trees and move on long silken threads, although these threads are annoying when hiking they do not pose any health risk


Information desks

Avenue de Lauras, 12250 Roquefort/Soulzon

http://www.roquefort-tourisme.fr/

0565585600

Situated in the Grands Causses Regional Natural Park, the cheese village of Roquefort stretches on the hillside over the famous scree of the Combalou Rock, in southern Larzac. The village is at an elevation of 630 m and has 700 inhabitants.

OPENING PERIODS:

The Tourist Office is open all year round:

  • In July and August, Monday to Saturday: 9.30 to 18.30, Sunday: 10.00 to 17.00.
  • April, May, June, September, October; Monday to Saturday: 9.30 to 12.15 & 13.00 to 17.30, closed on Sunday.
  • January, February, November, December; Monday to Friday: 9.30 to 12.15 & 13.00 to 17.00, closed on Saturday and Sunday.
Find out more

Transport


Access and parking

From Millau, follow the D992, then the D999 up to Vabres l’Abbaye, from Albi, follow the D999 up to Vabres l’Abbaye. Once in the village, proceed to the West via the D25. Saint-Izaire is located 16 km from Vabres l’Abbaye.

Parking :

Place de la Bascule (carpark under the bridge)

More information


Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:


Close by
5
Where to sleep ?

Where to sleep ?

HEALTH INSTRUCTIONS (dated June 06 2020)


Dear visitors


The Saint Izaire municipality is pleased to welcome you to this natural campsite. All measures have been taken to guarantee that you have a safe and enjoyable stay. We simply require   that everyone conforms to the following health and safety instructions.


•    You are free to choose the location of your pitch, provided that you respect the clearly marked spaces and adequate distancing between the pitches that are already occupied; if any problem arises or in case of overcrowding, the municipality reserves the right to change the pitch location of newcomers to ensure a homogeneous distribution within the campsite.


•    As a basic principle, you are required to comply with safety distancing measures within the reception area at all times. Groups of more than ten people or of several campervans or caravans will be split to ensure health and safety conditions.


•    If safety distancing cannot be respected (e.g: using the toilets), we highly recommend that you wear a fitted mask (covering your nose and mouth).


•    Door handles and sanitary facilities will be cleaned on a regular basis. However, we request that you follow the current precautions by using a hydro alcoholic solution if necessary. Outdoor games areas will also be cleaned regularly; However, in line with the precautionary principle, the set of outdoor games (children's slide - climbing frame) will not be open.


•    Upon leaving the campsite, you will be asked to leave your name and telephone number to comply with our adequate health monitoring obligations, in case of any future alert. These contact details will only be kept for two months.


We hope you will enjoy your stay in this natural site that is made available for you while complying with our safety instructions. Shops are at your disposal in the immediate vicinity (service station – inn). In case of any difficulties, please call 06.29.11.62.30


read more
What to see

What to see

Saint-Izaire castle and archery museum

Formerly a bishop's summer palace, this building is a listed Historic Monument that has kept some of its original features when the bishops had a way of life similar to the great feudal lords.


20 rooms to discover during the visit: Museum of rural art and traditional archery. Reconstruction of a classroom, an ancient kitchen and the bishop's chamber dating from the 17th century. Free visits with guide book/information sheet. Discovery game for accompanied children from 6 to 12 years old. Duration: 1 hour


HEALTH INSTRUCTIONS


•   During peak periods, entries to the castle will be regulated to allow a smooth flow of visitors. Groups of more than ten people will be split up to ensure sanitary health conditions within indoor spaces.

 

•   We highly recommend you to wear a fitted mask (covering nose and mouth) throughout the visit to avoid any risk of spreading the virus from one person to another if safe distancing cannot be implemented.

 

•   A one-way system has been specified to guarantee a smooth flow of people, to avoid them from passing each other. It is incumbent upon each person to regulate his or her speed of progression. During the visit, despite the layout of the circuit, three points where people pass each other remain (landing – staircase – corridor) but which are wide enough to ensure physical distancing. In the staircase, priority is given to people going downstairs.

 

•   The handing of collector's items is forbidden! Even though all contact areas (door handles – ropes – guidebooks – handrails and others are disinfected on a regular basis, the collector's items are not. A hydro alcoholic solution set up in several points throughout the visit is at your disposal.


•   Upon leaving the castle, you will be asked to leave your name and telephone number to comply with our adequate health monitoring obligations, in case of any future alert. These contact details will only be kept for two months.


read more
Wath to do
Where to sleep ?

Notre Dame de Grâce
>>
Accueil
>
Pédestre
>
Notre Dame de Grâce
Saint-Izaire

Notre Dame de Grâce

Histoire et patrimoine
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion

Une escapade d’une heure et demie sur la rive droite du Dourdou, face au bourg de Saint-Izaire, en forme de pèlerinage buissonnier jusqu’à la chapelle du XIVe siècle, juchée sur une colline

Depuis le village de Saint-Izaire, rejoignez la rive opposée pour monter jusqu’à Notre-Dame-de-Grâce, sanctuaire médiéval restauré qui domine la plaine du Dourdou. Une statue-menhir et la maison natale du spécialiste en la matière, le chanoine Hermet, jalonnent cette boucle patrimoniale qui emprunte aussi une ancienne voie ferrée


Les 4 patrimoines à découvrir
Histoire et patrimoine

Village de Saint-Izaire

L'histoire de ce village se confond  avec celle du vieux château épiscopal, résidence d'été des évêques de Vabres.

Il est fait mention du nom de ce village pour la première fois dans un acte de 862.

Au XIIème siècle, invasions, brigandages et luttes entre féodaux font régner une terrible insécurité et il est vraisemblable que le village s’enferme peu à peu dans des remparts qui deviennent le refuge des habitants des environs lors des désordres. Le château et le bourg fortifié datent des évêques de Vabres qui font de Saint-Izaire leur résidence d’été ainsi qu’un solide refuge.

A la fin des guerres de religions, avec le retour de la paix, cette enceinte a perdu son rôle de fortification, elle a été percée de fenêtres, les portes fortifiées ont été démolies pour le passage des charrettes ou pour agrandir les maisons voisines. Le tracé des rues, ruelles et maisons est inchangé depuis le Moyen-âge, et dans certaines rues on peut encore voir de très belles façades et fenêtres du XVème siècle.

lire la suite
Architecture

Le pont de Saint-Izaire

Jusqu’en 1859, la traversée du Dourdou se faisait par un bac ou à pied par le gué ou par une passerelle (la Planqua en occitan, qui reste le nom du quartier rive droite). Le premier pont construit tout en grés rouge en 1859 fut emporté par une crue en 1930 et remplacé par l’actuel pont suspendu en béton.

lire la suite
Histoire et patrimoine

Chapelle Notre Dame de Grâce

Sanctuaire fondé par Alix de Castelnau.

Cette chapelle existe depuis au moins le XVème siècle, où elle portait le nom d’Ouradou (oratoire).

Elle a été restaurée en 1730 et au XIXème siècle; on y a remployé alors la porte de l’escalier du château.

lire la suite
Archéologie

Statue menhir du Mas Capelier

Cette statue possède tous les attributs féminins : seins adjacents à la pendeloque en forme de Y, jambes disjointes, chevelure représentée dans le dos par une bande du sommet de la tête jusqu'à la ceinture. Les yeux ronds, à la hauteur du nez, surmontent les tatouages des joues faits de quatre traits parallèles.

lire la suite

Description

  1. Départ de la Place de la Bascule (parking sous le pont), traverser le pont.
  2. Au rond-point, prendre à gauche (direction Broquiès), puis après environ 50M, attaquer d’emblée la (presque) seule difficulté du parcours : un raidillon d’une centaine de mètres qui nous mène au pied de la Chapelle ND de Grâces. Sur l’arrière, profitez du petit enclos pour vous reposer et découvrir un beau panorama, du village et de la plaine. Chaque année (de nos jours au 15 Août) il y a lieu un pèlerinage bien connu dans le pays, avec messe en plein air dans l’enclos susnommé.
  3. Puis nous continuons à gauche vers l’ex-hôtel Bellevue, quittons le bitume pour monter tout droit  le chemin dit « du château d’eau ». Arrivé à la route prendre à droite pendant 550m.
  4. A la statue-menhir sur la droite : un panneau vous détaille son historique. Ensuite bien suivre le fléchage, car ici plusieurs chemins partent dans toutes directions. Le nôtre est le plus à droite, il va descendre, étroit et irrégulier, et nous ramener  à la plaine du Dourdou.
  5. Nous parcourons ensuite, sur la droite, l’ex-voie ferrée, jusqu’à l’embranchement à nouveau sur la droite, qui remonte vers la chapelle. Vous profiterez alors de nouveau de beaux regards sur la plaine.
  6. Puis nous rejoignons notre point de départ par le même itinéraire.
Départ : Saint-Izaire, le bourg
Arrivée : Saint-Izaire, le Bourg
Communes traversées : Saint-Izaire, Calmels-et-le-Viala

Profil altimétrique


Lieux de renseignement

OT Pays du Roquefort

Avenue de Lauras, 12250 Roquefort/Soulzon

http://www.roquefort-tourisme.fr/

contact@roquefort-tourisme.fr

0565585600

Situé dans le Parc naturel régional des Grands Causses, la cité fromagère de Roquefort, altitude 630 mètres, 700 habitants, s'étire au flanc du célèbre éboulis du Rocher du Combalou, au sud du Larzac.
PÉRIODES D’OUVERTURE :
L’Office de Tourisme est ouvert à l’année :
    •    En juillet, août et jusqu'au 18 septembre : du lundi au samedi : 9h30-12h30 & 13h30-17h00
    •    De septembre à juin : du lundi au vendredi : 9h30-12h30 & 13h30-17h00, fermé le samedi et dimanche.
 

En savoir plus

Transport

Se déplacer en bus ou en train : https://lio.laregion.fr/

Covoiturage : BlaBlaCar, Rézo Pouce, Mobicoop, Idvroom, LaRoueVerte, Roulez malin

Accès routiers et parkings

Depuis Millau, par la D992 puis la D999 jusqu'à Vabres l'Abbaye, depuis Albi par la D999, à Vabres l'Abbaye emprunter vers l'ouest la D25. Saint Izaire est à 16km de Vabres l'Abbaye.

Stationnement :

Place de la Bascule (parking sous le pont)

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :


À proximité
5
Où dormir ?

Où dormir ?

Aire de camping-cars municipale

CONSIGNES SANITAIRES (en date du 06/06/2020)


CHERS VISITEURS


La commune de Saint Izaire est heureuse de vous accueillir dans cette aire naturelle de camping.  Toutes les dispositions ont été prises pour que votre séjour puisse se dérouler en toute sécurité pour peu que chacun respecte les consignes ci-dessous.


•    Le choix de l'emplacement est libre en respectant les espaces délimités et un espacement suffisant entre les emplacements déjà occupés ; en cas de difficulté ou de sur-fréquentation, la commune se réserve la possibilité de changer les arrivants d'emplacement pour assurer une répartition homogène dans l'espace.


•    D'une façon générale, nous vous demandons de respecter d'une façon permanente les distances de sécurité sur l'aire d'accueil. Les groupes de plus de dix personnes ou de plusieurs camping-cars ou caravanes devront être fractionnés pour garantir les conditions de sécurité sanitaire.


•    Nous vous recommandons fortement de porter un masque ajusté (couvrant le nez et la bouche) si les distances de sécurité ne peuvent pas être respectées (passage aux sanitaires).


•    Les poignées de portes et les équipements sanitaires seront régulièrement désinfectés. Pour autant, nous vous demandons de prendre les précautions d'usage en utilisant du gel hydroalcoolique si besoin. Les jeux d'extérieur feront également l'objet d'une désinfection régulière ; le bloc de jeux d'extérieur (toboggan- cage à grimper) sera clos en application du principe de précaution.  


•    A la sortie, nous vous demanderons de bien vouloir laisser vos coordonnées téléphoniques pour pouvoir assurer un suivi sanitaire en cas de signalement ultérieur. Ces coordonnées ne seront conservées que deux mois.


Nous espérons que votre séjour se déroulera agréablement dans ce site naturel mis à votre disposition tout en respectant les consignes de sécurité Des commerces sont à votre disposition à proximité immédiate (station-service – auberge). En cas de difficulté vous pouvez appeler le 06.29.11.62.30

                

lire la suite
À voir

À voir

Château de Saint-Izaire et Musée de l'Archerie

Résidence d'été des évêques de Vabres l'Abbaye, cet édifice classé Monument Historique conserve des traces de l'époque où les évêques avaient le même mode de vie que les grands seigneurs.

20 pièces à découvrir : le musée d'art rural, de l'archerie traditionnelle, la salle de classe, la cuisine et la chambre de l'évêque datant du 17ème siècle. Visite libre avec documentation. Jeu découverte pour les enfants de 6 à 12 ans accompagnés. Durée: 1h.

   CONSIGNES SANITAIRES

•    En cas d'affluence les entrées seront régulées afin de garantir une fluidité suffisante lors de la visite. Les groupes de plus de dix personnes devront être fractionnés pour garantir les conditions de sécurité sanitaire dans les espaces intérieurs

•    Nous vous recommandons fortement de porter un masque ajusté (couvrant le nez et la bouche) tout au long de la visite afin d'éviter tout risque de propagation du virus en cas de croisement et tout particulièrement dans les cas où la distance de sécurité ne pourrait être observée.

•    Un sens de circulation a été défini afin de garantir une progression fluide permettant d'éviter les croisements. Il appartient à chaque visiteur de réguler sa vitesse de progression.  Lors de la visite, malgré l'aménagement du circuit, il existe trois points de croisements (palier- escalier- couloir) qui sont suffisamment larges pour respecter une distance suffisante. Dans l'escalier, La priorité est à la descente.

•    La manipulation des objets des collections est interdite ! si tous les points de contact (poignées de porte- cordes- guide de visite- rampes...) sont désinfectés régulièrement, les différents objets des collections ne le sont pas.  Dans plusieurs endroits de la visite, du gel hydroalcoolique est à votre disposition.

•    A la sortie, nous vous demanderons de bien vouloir laisser vos coordonnées téléphoniques pour pouvoir assurer un suivi sanitaire en cas de signalement ultérieur. Ces coordonnées ne seront conservées que deux mois.




lire la suite